Bittersweet Chocolate and Pear Cake

A few weeks back, I found this recipe posted at the Smitten Kitchen blog and it caught my eye at once. I left it open as a tab on my computer and proceeded to forget about for a while. Then, Valentine’s Day was coming up and I decided that this holiday made a good excuse to bake something tasty. I researched recipes online with a Valentine’s Day theme and ended up at What Megan’s Making and found the very same recipe that caught my attention before! So, it was decided: I would make Bittersweet Chocolate and Pear Cake! yay!!Photo0887

As I looked at the recipe, it looked a little complicated, but happily enough, I had all the right ingredients and there was no going back. Instead of bittersweet chocolate, I used half semisweet and half unsweetened baking chocolate that we already have from Christmas. I also cut the sugar to about 3/4 of what was called for. Despite my fears of the cake not fitting in the pan, the unsweetened chocolate being too bitter, and the pear not being ripe enough, everything turned out beautifully. My (chocolate-loving, health-conscious) family declared it a success and so I was happy.

Photo0889

So, that was my Valentines Day :) yay for chocolate and baking adventures :)

P.S. Check out the awesome photos from the original sources… my phone camera photography doesn’t do this treat justice: Smitten Kitchen & What Megan’s Making.

Leave a comment