Winning at Granola

Tuesday was a very snowy and long day. So, clearly, when I got home, baking was in order.

Image borrowed from Creme de la Crumb

I started off with this recipe from The Faux Martha. Once I assessed my resources and supplies, I decided to use coconut, cashews, raisins, and a mixture of honey and molasses in my granola. Since I was unsure about how it would turn out, I halved the recipe for a first try.

The results were spectacular, although honestly, the granola turned out much more like this Toasted Coconut Cashew Granola, which is another recipe I had been eyeing.

Here are my top granola-making tips:

  1. Reducing the oil and sugar will probably be fine. It was for me, at least.
  2. When the recipe says “Stir and flip granola” while it is baking, do it. Otherwise, you get burnt granola. Thankfully, only the very edges of mine got a bit too dark.
  3. The granola doesn’t have to be all crunchy when you take it out of the oven. That part happens when it is cooling.
  4. Hot granola is… hot. Yeah, I learned that one the hard way.
  5. Eating granola with fresh homemade soy milk is a very wonderful experience. Highly recommended, but not required.

Happy snacking and breakfasting!

Leave a Reply

