The Cookies that Changed My Life

Okay, maybe that is an overstatement. But only by a little.

You have to understand that I really like cookies. I think you already knew that. One of my favorite types is jelly thumbprint cookies. Usually, they are terribly un-healthly, short-bread-like munchies that require lots of butter and sugar. Oh, and jam.

CAM00255

This time, I decided to try my best to make a healthy version. After a little searching online, I discovered this Thumbprint Cookies recipe from Whole Foods and decided to give it a try.

The recipe is straightforward and I didn’t have a single issue in putting these cookies together. However, the recipe’s simplicity did nothing to allay my worries and fears. The cookie dough looked very… lumpy and crunchy because of all the nuts and oats. I wondered if that was normal. And then, the dough tasted pretty meh as well.

Oh well. I had come this far, so I had just as well bake them.

CAM00254

What I took out of the oven a few minutes later completely shocked me. There, on the tray, were lightly browned, nutty, tantalizing jam thumbprint cookies. Oh oh! <3 As soon as they were cool enough to eat, I tasted one and decided that I had been completely wrong about the meh-ness of these cookies. Not only are they healthy, these cookies have a depth and complexity of flavor you don’t often find in baked goods.

I had a very hard time not eating the entire tray of cookies that evening.

Leave a Reply

