Baking Adventures!

Yesterday, my whole family was out and left me home all alone. And so now, I am here to record what happens when you leave Kristen home alone…. cooking and baking adventures!

Adventure 1: Omelet

Photo0873

This was my first time really making an omelet. To be honest, I have very little experience cooking egg-dishes and it kind of scares me just because I know so little about them. However, one of my friends was telling me how easy making omelets is, so I decided to give it a try… after looking up instructions in one of my mom’s recipe books first, of course! I think I succeeded for the most part. Apparently I was supposed to flip the omelet and keep it as one entire piece, but I still need practice on that part ; )

Adventure 2: Apple Crisp

Photo0876

For dessert, I made a mini apple crisp. I found an apple that nobody really wanted to eat (my family doesn’t like golden delicious apples) and turned it into a yummy little dessert. Yay! I chopped up the apple into really small piece and then topped it with a mixture of rolled oats, raw sugar, cinnamon, butter, and a pinch of salt. Then I put it in the oven at 350 degrees and checked it every little while until I deemed it “done”. After cooling, I added a small scoop of Black Cherry Ice Cream and my creation was complete. It was happy.

Adventure 3: Pumpkin Coffeecake

Photo0878

Before leaving yesterday, my mom set out some frozen pumpkin to thaw and so I decided to make some breakfast for my family. I attempted to find something healthy to feed them and it mostly worked. My recipe was from the Vegetarian Times and I think it turned out deliciously. I particularly loved the oatmeal inside the cake. : )

Bonus: Random photo of my room… in case you were curious what else I do besides bake when I am home alone… : P

Photo0877

Leave a Reply

