Homemade Pop-Tarts

I’m sure you don’t need me to tell you that Pop-Tarts are terrible for you! All the same, these are just too cute not to give a second glance and maybe a first chance. We’ll see…

When I was little (and before our family turned healthy), we used to buy Pop-Tarts all the time. I was simply enchanted by the idea of a mini-pie that I could stick in the toaster and it would come out all warm and happy. And! it had sprinkles on it. And! I could share the other one with my sister! And! there were millions of flavors. I also considered the person who came up with the name “Pop-Tart” to be a perfect genius. Ah, the joys of being six years old. In all truth, we didn’t have a toaster… but that didn’t make any difference to me. The broiler was just as effective at toasting them. : )

OKAY. Enough stories. So, if you want to make these, they are really, really easy. There is a basic pie crust/dough recipe from the cute Sugarcrafter site. And then you can put in whatever sort of fillings that suit your palate. Or imagination. Happy baking!

One thought on “Homemade Pop-Tarts

  1. Pingback: Homemade Pop-Tarts: Part 2 | A Vanilla Daydream

Leave a Reply

