Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Life is back to normal again: First weekend home and I’m baking. YAY.

Today I knew I wanted to bake with oatmeal and cinnamon. Then my mom mentioned that we have chocolate chips and so clearly I had to use some of them too. : )

After a little googling I found this recipe on Allrecipes.com which I used pretty much exactly as it’s written. We didn’t have any brown sugar, so I used just under a whole cup of white sugar. Other than that, everything was the same.

This was a really easy recipe. Creaming the sugar, butter, egg, and vanilla together was a breeze. I was a little nervous when I added in the dry ingredients… the dough didn’t seem to be holding together at all. However with a little time, everything worked out splendidly. Did I mention how delicious the dough is? aHHH. :bliss:

They look kind of boring in the picture above, but let me tell you… they do taste wonderful.

Just out of the oven!

And onto the trays.

I still can’t believe there is cinnamon in these cookies! So cool. I think it makes them really lovely and just a step out of anything ordinary. I do wish the cookies didn’t flatten out quite as much and that they were a little less… chewy. Next time, I hope to use oatmeal that is flattened more finely, as today’s oatmeal was a little course. Overall, these cookies are quite wonderful. I can’t wait to share them with my family tonight! Be jealous you’re not here. ; )

One thought on “Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Leave a Reply

