Happy Thanksgiving!!!!

Happy Thanksgiving! I hope you’ve had a wonderful day! What things are you most thankful for?

I am incredibly thankful for God’s beautiful gift of grace, my family, my amazing college friends, and being able to live at home and bake. Honestly. : )

Speaking of living at home… what was on your Thanksgiving menu? We made:

  • Turkey
  • Stuffing
  • Mashed potatoes
  • Green beans with ginger < 3
  • Brown rice… yes, for reals
  • Stir-fried vegetables
  • Whole wheat dinner rolls!
  • Salad
  • Pumpkin pie
  • Apple pie
  • Chocolate chiffon pie

It was rather glorious. I was in charge of making and rolling out all of the pie crusts… all of eight of them. So wonderful. I LOVE making pie crust. For a little bit of a healthy spin, I used half whole wheat flour and half regular white pasty flour. My dough didn’t stretch quite like it normally does, but everything ended up working out splendidly. And, goodness, whole wheat crust tastes so good!!

For the apple pie, I used an old family recipe from the famous Amy Vanerbilt cookbook in our baking drawer. The filling calls for sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, strong tea, and lemon juice. I don’t know anything quite like it. This apple pie is not your average super sweet candy pie. Oh, no, our apple pie is spice-covered apples with the perfect crust to go along with the deep set flavors.

This year’s apple pie turned out absolutely perfectly. I have not one complaint to register. I am really rather happy and thrilled about that.

Really now, you should comment and tell me what you made and how it turned out. Any new favorite dishes or recipes?

Leave a Reply

